If you are in distress, you can call or text 988 at any time. If it is an emergency, call 9-1-1 or go to your local emergency department.

HomeMedia Centre › September 9, 2013 – The Mental Health Commission of Canada announces new Board members

September 9, 2013 – The Mental Health Commission of Canada announces new Board members

Calgary, Alberta | Monday, September 9, 2013 |

David Goldbloom, Chair, Mental Health Commission of Canada Board of Directors, is pleased to announce the election of four new members to its Board of Directors.

The new members are:

Dennis Anderson – A former Commissioner of the Edmonton Police Service, Anderson initiated mental health training for police officers during his six-year term. He held several cabinet posts while representing the constituents of Calgary Currie in the Alberta Legislature from 1979 to 1993.

Manon Charbonneau, MD – Charbonneau is Chief of the Department of Psychiatry at the regional hospital of Sept-Îles, and the Past President of the Canadian Psychiatric Association.

Arlene Hache – Hache spent 22 years as the Executive Director of the Centre for Northern Families in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. She was awarded the Order of Canada and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for her work in support of health promotion for families in northern communities.

Shan Landry – Landry spent more than 35 years in senior leadership positions in health in Saskatchewan, most recently serving as Vice President of Community Services, Saskatoon Health Region.

The MHCC Board ensures decision making aligns with the Commission’s strategic direction including vision, mission, and key goals. Successful candidates will have provided leadership in mental health in any of the following settings: community organizations, government, health care organizations or academic environments.

The 3-year term for the four newest members of the Board begins today.


The Mental Health Commission of Canada is a catalyst for change. We are collaborating with hundreds of partners to change the attitudes of Canadians toward mental health problems and to improve services and support. Our goal is to help people who live with mental health problems and illnesses lead meaningful and productive lives. Together we create change. The Mental Health Commission of Canada is funded by Health Canada.

www.mentalhealthcommission.ca | strategy.mentalhealthcommission.ca


Kyle Marr, Senior Communications Specialist
Mental Health Commission of Canada
Office: 403-385‐4050
Mobile: 587-226‐8782



Contact Us
For general inquiries, please contact:

350 Albert Street, Suite 1210

Ottawa ON K1R 1A4

Tel: 613.683.3755

Fax: 613.798.2989

Email: mhccinfo@mentalhealthcommission.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Tel: 613.683.3748

Email: media@mentalhealthcommission.ca

The Mental Health Commission of Canada is a catalyst for change, an organization designed to recommend improvements to the mental health system on a national level. We are not directly involved in individual cases of advocacy, outreach, service delivery or local supports.