If you are in distress, you can call or text 988 at any time. If it is an emergency, call 9-1-1 or go to your local emergency department.

HomeMedia Centre › Mental Health Commission Welcomes Three New Board Directors

Mental Health Commission Welcomes Three New Board Directors

From Mental Health Commission of Canada

I am pleased to announce the following appointments to the Mental Health Commission of Canada’s (MHCC) Board of Directors:

Kellie Garrett, Regina, SK – an executive coach, speaker and consultant with expertise in marketing and communications. Ms. Garrett coaches individuals, teams and boards in leadership, internal culture change, employee engagement, governance and business strategy. Prior to becoming an entrepreneur, she was a Senior VP at Farm Credit Canada responsible for business strategy, enterprise risk management, the customer experience, and reputation management. Generations of Garrett’s family have lived with depression and anxiety, and her own experience has made her a frequent speaker in the hopes of reducing stigma and encouraging others to seek help. Her work in autism awareness and with Dress for Success garnered her a 2014 Red Cross Humanitarian Award in Saskatchewan.

Lynne McVey, Montreal, QC – a nurse, clinician, manager and healthcare leader renowned for her patient-centered approach. Recently appointed President and CEO of the Montréal West Island Integrated University Health and Social Services Centre (IUHSSC), Ms. McVey is also an Associate Professor of Nursing and Psychiatry at McGill University and Head of Professional Education in the Department of Health Administration at the University of Montreal. She has held senior management positions in Quebec health and social services networks for over 15 years, participating actively in its reforms. She also has an impressive track record in improving patient care and promoting research, particularly in cancer and mental health.

Carole Shankaruk, St. Lazare, MB – a Registered Social Worker and certified counsellor. She is currently the division school social worker for the Mountain View School Division and will become the division’s inaugural Indigenous Education Facilitator in the coming academic year. A descendent of Métis leader Cuthbert Grant, Ms. Shankaruk has a wealth of knowledge in diverse sectors including health care, child welfare, education and private business. She has served as President of the Manitoba Council for Exceptional Children and as board member of the Child Welfare Intake Agency All Nations Response Unit, and now chairs the Board of the Park West School Division.

Our new directors bring an impressive array of skills, knowledge and backgrounds to complement the existing strengths of the MHCC Board. As an organization with a pan-Canadian mandate we are enriched by the unique perspectives they bring from their respective provinces and communities. I am both humbled and inspired to lead such a talented Board as we continue to press forward on mental health in Canada.

On behalf of the MHCC, and the broader mental health community, I would like to express my gratitude to outgoing directors Tera Beaulieu, Kim Calsaferri and Uppala Chandrasekera, for their dedicated service and enduring contributions toward improving the mental health of all people in Canada.

The Hon. Michael Wilson, P.C., C.C.
Board Chair, Mental Health Commission of Canada

Mental Health Commission of Canada, Media Relations
613-857-0840 / media@mentalhealthcommission.ca

Stay Connected
Follow MHCC on Facebook
Follow MHCC on Twitter
Follow MHCC on LinkedIn
Follow MHCC on Instagram
Subscribe to MHCC on YouTube


Contact Us
For general inquiries, please contact:

350 Albert Street, Suite 1210

Ottawa ON K1R 1A4

Tel: 613.683.3755

Fax: 613.798.2989

Email: mhccinfo@mentalhealthcommission.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Tel: 613.683.3748

Email: media@mentalhealthcommission.ca

The Mental Health Commission of Canada is a catalyst for change, an organization designed to recommend improvements to the mental health system on a national level. We are not directly involved in individual cases of advocacy, outreach, service delivery or local supports.