If you are in distress, you can call or text 988 at any time. If it is an emergency, call 9-1-1 or go to your local emergency department.

HomeMedia Centre › Mental Health Commission of Canada Welcomes Three New Board Directors

Mental Health Commission of Canada Welcomes Three New Board Directors

Statement by the Hon. Michael Wilson, P.C., C.C., Board Chair, Mental Health Commission of Canada:

“Following the Annual General Meeting of the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) held on Tuesday, September 12, I am pleased to announce the following appointments to the Board of Directors:

Ms. Anne-Marie Hourigan, Toronto, ON – a retired Judge of the Ontario Court of Justice, who presided over criminal matters for 12 years. Ms. Hourigan uses her platform to raise awareness about the intersection of mental illness and criminal behavior and frequently lectures on the importance of embedding mental health literacy into the education system. She has served on the Boards of The Institute of Families for Child and Youth Mental Health and the Eva Rothwell Centre, Hamilton.

Mr. Marc-André LeBlanc, Eels River Crossing, NB – a young leader focused on mental health and wellness within the LGBTQ+ and Francophone communities. Mr. LeBlanc is studying political science and public relations at the University of Moncton, while serving as president of the Francophone Youth Federation of New Brunswick and as a member of the Fédération de la jeunesse Canadienne-française.

Ms. Alisa Praamsma, Yellowknife, NWT – an Inuk (Taloyoak) born in the Midland region of Ontario and raised in a non-Indigenous family. Ms. Praamsma has held diverse positions with the Government of Nunavut, including Director of the Policy and Planning Division for the Department of Justice.  Most recently, Ms. Praamsma was hired as Executive Director of the Native Women’s Association of the Northwest Territories, where she led the pre-Inquiry gathering for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.  She is also Chair of the Board of Directors for the Yellowknife Women’s Society.

In keeping with the MHCC’s commitment to diversity, I am extremely pleased that our new Directors reflect our nation’s rich cultural mosaic.  I am also gratified that we now enjoy Indigenous representation across all three groups: First Nations, Inuit and Metis.

On behalf of the MHCC, and the broader mental health community, I would like to thank outgoing Board Directors, Mr. Peter Ralph and Mr. Mark Henick for their distinguished service and longstanding dedication to improving the mental health and wellness of all Canadians.”


The Mental Health Commission of Canada is a catalyst for change. We are collaborating with hundreds of partners to change the attitudes of Canadians toward mental health problems and to improve services and support. Our goal is to help people who live with mental health problems and illnesses lead meaningful and productive lives. Together we create change. The Mental Health Commission of Canada is funded by Health Canada.
www.mentalhealthcommission.ca | strategy.mentalhealthcommission.ca

Media Contact:
Hélène Côté, Senior Communications Advisor, Public Affairs
Mental Health Commission of Canada
Office: 613.683.3952
Mobile: 613.857.0840


Contact Us
For general inquiries, please contact:

350 Albert Street, Suite 1210

Ottawa ON K1R 1A4

Tel: 613.683.3755

Fax: 613.798.2989

Email: mhccinfo@mentalhealthcommission.ca

For media inquiries, please contact:

Tel: 613.683.3748

Email: media@mentalhealthcommission.ca

The Mental Health Commission of Canada is a catalyst for change, an organization designed to recommend improvements to the mental health system on a national level. We are not directly involved in individual cases of advocacy, outreach, service delivery or local supports.